Office Staff

Scott H. Harris, Executive Director of University of Mary Washington Museums

Scott Harris became director of the James Monroe Museum and Memorial Library in July 2011, following ten years as director of the New Market Battlefield State Historical Park (administered by Virginia Military Institute).  From 1988 to 2001, Scott was the first curator of the Manassas Museum and later director of historic resources for the City of Manassas, Virginia.  Prior to his work in Manassas, he was a consulting historian with the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities in Richmond and an historical interpreter with the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation.  He has been a board member of the New Market Area Chamber of Commerce, Prince William County/Manassas Convention and Visitors Bureau, Shenandoah Valley Travel Association, and Virginia Civil War Trails, Inc.  He is a past president of the Virginia Association of Museums and serves as a peer reviewer for the Museum Assessment and Accreditation programs of the American Association of Museums.

Scott received his BA with honors in History and Historic Preservation from the University of Mary Washington in 1983.  In 1988, he received an MA in History and Museum Administration from the College of William and Mary. Scott is also a graduate of the Seminar for Historical Administration, the nation’s oldest advanced museum professional development program.

Contact Scott at 540/654-1043 or by e-mail.

Jarod Kearney, Assistant Director and Curator

Jarod Kearney began as curator of the James Monroe Museum and Library in November 2011. Previously, he was curator of the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Museum in Staunton, Virginia, and prior to that curator of the Rye Historical Society in New York. He has been director of the Hallockville Museum Farm and Folklife Center on Long Island, and worked at the Greensboro Historical Museum in North Carolina. Jarod received his MA in Museum Studies and BA in History from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Contact Jarod at 540/654-2112 or by e-mail.

Lynda Allen, Public Programs Coordinator

Lynda joined the staff in September of 2013 as our Office and Store Manager, in which capacity she oversaw office administration, trained Museum Guides in admissions and store operations, and oversaw product development and sales activity. Previously, she handled bookkeeping and accounting for the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Fredericksburg and Avatar Systems, Ltd., a Falls Church computer repair and networking company. Some of her other prior jobs are teacher, youth camp instructor, graphic artist, and membership assistant (the latter at the High Museum of Art in Atlanta, GA). She has also been a producer and director of documentary films.  Two notable past subjects are female rock musicians and the impact of a proposed reservoir on the Mattaponi Indian Tribe in King William County, VA.

Contact Lynda at 540/654-2111 or by e-mail.

Tracy DeBernard, Office and Store Manager

As the Museum’s Office and Store Manager, Tracy provides administrative support to the staff and has frequent contact with business vendors and the general public. Management of the Museum Store encompasses all aspects of financial accounting, merchandise buying, new product development, and marketing. As the Office and Store Manager she also fulfills an administrative role for the Friends of the James Monroe Museum and our advisory body, the Board of Regents. Tracy brings a wealth of administrative experience to her new position, having formerly managed C & T Produce, one of our region’s largest suppliers of locally-grown farm produce. She was previously employed by the City of Fredericksburg as manager of the Fredericksburg Farmer’s Market, and was active as a Girl Scout leader for seven years.

Contact Tracy at 540/654-1123 or by e-mail.


Visitor Services Staff

Pat Baughman, Sherri Curtis, Carrie Dotson, Katie Finch, Kate Logan, Danette Pisarcik, Susan Prescott, Keren Pritchett, Cathleen Romine, Heidi Stello, Charles Tate III, Linda Westerman, John Harris, and Connie Brady.

Bowley Scholars

Lindsey Crawford and Holly Irwin are our Bowley Scholars for the 2017-18 academic year.